The highest international recognition of invention and innovation supporters



Last Update
 November 24,  2013 


 Árpád Bogsch

Dr. Árpád Bogsch (February 24, 1919, Budapest, Hungary - September 19, 2004, Geneva, Switzerland  was a Hungarian turned American international civil servant. Dr. Bogsch began his professional career in 1942 as an attorney in Budapest. In 1948, he moved to Paris as a legal officer at United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Copyright Division. In 1954 he took up a post as legal counselor at the US Copyright Office in Washington, D.C. and became an American citizen in 1959.

Bogsch was the Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) from 1963 to 1997, as well as serving as Secretary General of the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants. Under his direction, WIPO expanded its role and influence in the world of industrial and intellectual property. Bogsch launched a multitude of groundbreaking initiatives, notably by advocating the conclusion and revision of numerous international treaties, launching an ambitious program of assistance to developing countries, modernizing the system for the international registration of marks, creating the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Centre, and presiding over the baptism of ATRIP, a world association of intellectual property teachers and researchers. He was also the father of the Patent Cooperation Treaty. In addition, he contributed extensively to providing China with a modern intellectual property system and welcoming it into the international intellectual property community. Similarly, when the Soviet Union broke up he actively assisted the countries that emerged to create their own national systems and, as far as most are concerned, to build up a common patent regime through the Eurasian Patent Convention.


Definition of this recognition

  • The Árpád Bogsch Memory Medal was founded by the International Federation of Inventors Association (IFIA) in 2010 to award the invention and innovation supporters who are active in the spirit of Árpád Bogsch.

  • The winners are possible two persons per country proposing by the IFIA ExCo or IFIA member to the IFIA President.

  • The numbered medal (diameter 8 cm) was created by  Pál Gyulavári (Hungary).




The Árpád Bogsch Memory Medal


Awarded prominent persons

Number of medal Name Country Date
1 Mrs. Adel Bogsch None 23/04/2010, Geneva
2 Dr. Francis Gurry (WIPO Dirctor General) Australia 23/04/2010, Geneva
3 Dr. Farag Moussa (Former IFIA President) Egypt 23/04/2010, Geneva
4 Mr. Jean Luc Vincent (Founder of Geneva Salon) Switzerland 23/04/2010, Geneva
5 Mrs. Lydia Zetl (Director of IENA) Germany 29/10/2010, Nuremberg
6 Dr. Gusztáv Vékás  (Former Vice President of HPO) Hungary 12/11/2010, Budapest *
7 HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Thailand 03/12/2010, Seoul **
8 Dr. Miklós Bendzsel (HIPO President) Hungary 13/10/2012, Zagreb
9 HE Dr. Ivo Josipović (President of Croatia) Croatia 13/10/2012, Zagreb
10 Mr. Xu Shilong (Sponsor of CAI) China 11/11/2012, Kunshan
NEW!  11 Mr. Benoît Battistelli (EPO President) France 10/29/2013, Munich
NEW!  12 Mrs. Teresa Stanek Rea (USPTO Acting Director) USA 11/13/2013, Alexandria



* handing over on June 13, 2011 in Budapest    ** handing over on the first part of year 2011 in Bangkok





Mrs. Adel Bogsch Dr. Francis Gurry Dr. Farag Moussa




Mr. Jean Luc Vincent Mrs. Lydia Zetl Dr. Gusztáv Vékás Her Royal Highness
Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn



Dr. Miklós Bendzsel Dr. Ivo Josipović Mr. Xu Shilong



Mr. Benoît Battistelli Mrs. Teresa Stanek Rea